Structured Cabling Systems

Structured cabling systems are based on continuously developing international standards that provide uniformity in telecommunications infrastructure design. These standards have become the foundation on which new voice and data communications technologies are based. They allow a building to grow and change as technology changes, independent of the applications supported and the equipment manufacturer, and with minimal disruption to existing services.

Since the appearance of the ANSI/TIA/EIA and CSA standards for building cabling in the late 1980s, the performance of unshielded twisted pair copper cabling (UTP) has advanced from voice-only to the point it is now used to handle data rates of 10 Gbps. Where the speed or the range of UTP copper cable is not enough, these same standards cover the performance and the installation practices for fibre optic cabling systems.

Plexus Connectivity Solutions has over 16 years of experience in the design and installation of high performance premise wiring solutions.

As a Certified System Vendor of Belden/CDT’s Integrated Building Distribution Network (IBDN) products, Plexus is authorized to extend the manufacturer’s guarantee of performance for structured cabling systems we install. These systems include:

Unshielded Twisted Pair (UTP) cabling solutions rated at:

  • 1.2 Gbps (to meet Category 5e requirements)
  • 2.4 Gbps (to meet Category 6 requirements)
  • 4.8 Gbps (to significantly exceed Category 6 requirements)
  • 10 Gbps (to meet the augmented Category 6 requirements)

Fibre Optic solutions rated at:

  • 1 Gbps (to meet OM1 requirements)
  • 10 Gbps (to meet OM3 requirements)

In addition to the provision and placement of these systems, Plexus is also pleased to provide test results according to BICSI Standards, using qualified personnel and test equipment, such as the Fluke DTX-1800.

Contact us today

Areas Covered

We provide a range of Wireless Systems, Network Services and Fibre Optics Cabling in Moncton, Halifax, Fredericton, Saint John, Bathurst, Sussex, Saint John's, Dartmouth, New Glasgow, Truro, Kentville, Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Newfoundland.